Joy In Mudville


We’re nearly a month into the new baseball season and I’ve said nary a word about it. This should seem odd to anyone who knows me. I love baseball. I think the fact that we had near-monsoon weather here in NorCal until very recently kind of put a damper on things. But now the sun has come out (until today at least) and I’m starting to feel he vibe again.

For the uneducated, I am a diehard Angels fan, despite their ridiculous locality moniker. And just so you know, I was a diehard Angel fan loooooong before their magical 2002 season. So, shut up. I will say that to this point in the season they have been pretty mediocre with a 10-9 record. Not to worry, it’s only April afterall. I will say that it’s been good to see the King Fish back in the batters box again. He had a dismal 2004 and missed all of 2005 due to injury. He came to Angels camp on a minor league contract with no guarantee of making the major league squad. Basically, he had to prove himself like a rookie would. This for the Angels all-time home run leader. But he had a great spring, made the team, and has been filling his role platooning at DH great. He’s hitting over .320 with four home runs and has looked great doing it. I’ve always been a big fan of his ever since his rookie of the year season of 1993. He’s been a good player and a better person throughout his career. It’s nice, and rare, to see a guy who is a good player, humble, loved by the fans, and manages to stay with one team his whole career. Plus a good friend of the family once slept in the same bed with him. Hold on, hold on, it’s not like that. They were at a Bible conference and had to share a hotel room. As I write this post, Salmon has just been named player of the game in a 3-0 win against the Tigers (2-3 HR, 2 RBI). It’s nice to have him back.

It’s nice to have baseball back too. Even with this steroids business, I still love the game. So sue me. And once the flood waters subside, I’ll be out there throwing the ball around myself. The softball, that is. Afraid I’m a little old and broken down for hardball. It happens and I’m ok with that. Really I am…unlike some people I know. You know who you are.

One thought on “Joy In Mudville

Leave a Reply

