What line of work you in, Bob?


Well, I’ve had my brush with fame…sort of. Last night as I was indulging my current obsession with The Office (just humor me, I’m pretty sure it’s a phase) and reveling in my becoming one of the 42387 Myspace friends of Pam/Jenna, I came across several other Myspace pages of actors/characters from the show. Some of them were pretty funny, but one in particular stood out. It was for Bob Vance of Vance Refrigeration. He listed as one of his interests Angels baseball. This just so happens to be one of my interests as well. I figured I’d shoot him an email just for fun to carp about the Angels’ thoroughly disappointing season. Imagine my surprise when first thing this morning I received a reply. We both agreed that the lack of a second big-time run producing bat to protect Vladdy can’t be overlooked any longer, and that letting Troy Glaus walk was probably a mistake. In order to find another Angel fan to comiserate with I had to go to Myspace and find a little-known TV actor. Angel fans are few and far between in NorCal for some reason. Hmmmmmm. Anyway, that’s my brush with fame. I thought it was kind of a weird, funny story.

Incidently, Bob is only in two or three episodes from season two and only had a couple lines, but one scene in particular was pretty funny. He introduces himself thusly, “Bob Vance, Vance Refrigeration.” to three guys individually who are all standing next to each other, to which the last one replies, “What line of work you in, Bob?” Good stuff. I tried to find a clip on YouTube but I think you’re only allowed 10,000 clips of any one particular tv show and that just so happens to be the exact number of Jim/Pam fan montages.

On an unrelated note, I dropped my MP3 player today. Now all it does is display the Creative logo and won’t turn off unless I remove the battery. Ando not happy.

8 thoughts on “What line of work you in, Bob?

  1. kludge

    That cool actually. Sort of your fifteen minutes and all. I can’t recall the last time I chatted with anyone who has been on the television screen, staring in a nationally syndicated show…

    …Even if it does make you sort of like ‘the Office’ stocker and alll. A small price to pay for the joy of rubbing elbows with the clearly gifted Bob…

  2. J Crew

    I’m very scared of you now and… at least you have Vladdy and not 3 outfielders over 40 who would be on the cover of AARP and you have a world series championship… so pipe down. I’m not bitter or anything

  3. Ando

    Don’t be scared of me Josh, be scared for me.

    It doesn’t do any good to have only one good player. You of all people should know that.

  4. Call Me June...

    I’ve never thought of you as creepy Andy, but now I’m kind starting to… perhaps you could find Brett Farve’s myspace and send him a love note!

  5. Anna

    my latest brush with fame was my oh so quick stroll past Snoop Dog at Magic Mountain, at least you had some communication, not that I really care to communicate with good old Snoop.

  6. Ando

    Yeah, it was pretty cool. No, we haven’t spoken anymore. I don’t want him to think I’m stalking him…even though I am.

Leave a Reply

