Priorities


It’s funny how our priorities change as we get older. It wasn’t so long ago that the thought of buying $20 tennis shoes was anathema to me. Now I proudly display my Harsh brand sneakers. Cool was once a pair of Nike’s costing upwards of $80; now cool is finding a bargain pair of Vision Streetwear at Big 5 for somewhere south of 25 bones. This weekend I’ve been bragging about the two new shirts I got for eight bucks each off the clearance rack at Target. I think the first time I really noticed this change in perspective was a few months ago shopping at the fashion Mecca known as Wal-Mart. I saw a pair of shoes that I really liked. I dont’ think they even had a brand, they were like Generic brand shoes or something. They were priced at about $20 and I was stoked. It was at that exact instant when the realization hit me full on. I’d been subconsciencely aware of it for quite sometime, but now it was right in my face. I didn’t buy the shoes. I think it was a bit of shock to my system, coming to grips with that part of aging, and I wasn’t ready to fully embrace it. It wasn’t so much the actual idea of not over spending for clothing items, I’ve never been much of a clothes horse anyway, but it was the fact that admitting to such an attitude meant that I was admitting to getting older.

I’ve since come to terms with the paradigm shift. Not only do I save money to buy other much cooler stuff, but I’m free from the bondage of the fashionista. I’m not saying I’m ready to start wearing Court Classics or anything, but I wear what I want, because I want to, and the fact that it didn’t come from a certain store and I didn’t pay a certain price doesn’t make a lick of difference to me. Not that it ever did really, but now it really doesn’t. Occasionally, this may make my wife embarassed to be seen with me. Small price to pay for the peace of mind of knowing my priorities are in order. Or at least a slightly better order.

10 thoughts on “Priorities

  1. kludge

    Well said, and good job on working the phrase paradigm shift, into your post. I’m quite impressed.

    It might also have to do with your interactions with others as well. I recall in junior high getting abused because I had a generic brand of Bugle Boy cargo pants.

    I would be quite surprised if one of my co-workers began chiding me for the fact that I wear generic brand jeans.

  2. Anonymous

    Yes, “Paradigm shift” was a nice touch. You should have been a judge Saturday!!!

    What’s the matter with “Court Classics”? My kitchen & closet would b

  3. jbau

    Now there is no hope for me to get you to dress the way I want you to! But bad news, I bought you some Court Classics for Christmas. Should I take them back?

  4. Ando

    I wouldn’t go that far, J Crew. I’m just not as well dressed. Besides, you have an excuse, you have to dress up for school.

  5. Ando

    You’d never know it by your profile pic.

    We all have our kryptonite I suppose. Mine just happens to be electronic doo-dads rather than threads.

Leave a Reply

