They Say It’s Your Birthday (da,da,da,da,da,da,da,DA), We’re Gonna Have A Good Time (da,da,da,da,da,da,da,DA)


On December 3rd, 2005 a blog was born. One year and 161 posts later and what have we learned? Well, probably nothing. I was looking back at some of those early posts recently, and I was a lot more concernced about the state of society back then. I was an idealistic, naive 28 year old, hoping to make a difference in this crazy, mixed up world, and still believing I could. Now, as a crusty 29 year old, the realities of life have crushed my quixotic aspirations for improving life on this planet. Either that or I decided writing silly stuff was way more fun.

One lesson we have learned is that the use of orphic and abtruse lingua franca is an efficacious bucksaw to dissimulate ones paucity of true writing proficiency. Put another way, using big, funny words is really neato and tricks people into thinking I’m more smarter than I really is.

But if there is any legacy to be left by Life of Ando (and no, it is not going away) it’s that it inspired a legion of frustrated wordsmiths to throw off the shackles of creative apprehension and drink in the sweet emancipation of creative writing. By my count Life of Ando inspired, either directly or indirectly, no less than 13 blogs. Lucky number 13! I’d like to think that it was my accomplished and elegant prose, or knack for finding humor in everyday activities, but a more likely scenario is that the aforementioned wordsmiths read my material and thought, “Pbbbbt. If this joker and conjure a modest following with this tripe, just think how the multitudes will flock to something good! Thanks for lowering the bar you sophomoric hack.” Well, however it happened, I’m glad to be part of the catalyst.

What can we expect from Life of Ando in the next year? More of the same whimsical nonsense, more obscure vocabulary words, probably a serious observation now and then, the same old inspiring tripe. I know most of my readers are friends and family, except my wife of course, she gets enough of me in person, and that makes it fun. But few things are more exhilerating to the blogger than a new comment from an unknown. Hopefully, in the next year more unknowns will become familiar friends. In the meantime, I hope all the regulars will continue to enjoy whatever it is that keeps them coming back and remember not to be bamboozled by my abstruse lexicon. It’s merely an integument for my belletristic inadequacies.

4 thoughts on “They Say It’s Your Birthday (da,da,da,da,da,da,da,DA), We’re Gonna Have A Good Time (da,da,da,da,da,da,da,DA)

  1. kludge

    Congratulations on your Blogiversary! I know that if it weren’t for the fact that I felt so guilty posting stupid comments on all your posts I never would have gotten my own blog.

    Looking back I bet you didn’t mind the comments, but at the time I felt very bad about it…

    …thanks for introducing us all to this strange new world…

  2. Ando

    As far as I’m concerned there are no stupid comments. Even an insult, because it means they wasted some of the precious few moments of their day to say something rude. I win! The jokes on them! I’m made them waste time. Booyah!

    It’s like the old saying, any press is good press.

    Never, ever feel bad about leaving a comment no matter how “stupid.”

  3. jenylu

    “orphic and abtruse lingua franca is an efficacious bucksaw to dissimulate ones paucity”

    Ando, I couldn’t have said it better myself…because I couldn’t have said it! :)

    Thanks for the continued inspiration Ando!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

