Christmas Faves

I figured I better post something before I lose all my readers.
I spent the last several weeks watching Christmas movies and listening to Christmas music almost exclusivly. Radio station KOIT, 96.5 on your FM dial in the Bay Area, plays nothing but the holiday fare from Thanksgiving on. Unfortunately, since their regular format is easy listening their Christmas selections tend to lean in that direction as well. As a result you get a lot more Wham! than anybody really needs. I really don’t care what George Michael did with his heart last Christmas. But thanks to online music services like Rhapsody and Pandora.com I’ve had my fill of good music also. It got me to thinking, what are everyone else’s fave Christmas songs and movies? Here are my top three in each category. Feel free to respond in kind.
Movies:
White Christmas
It’s A Wonderful Life
A Christmas Story
Songs:
White Christmas (Bing, of course.)
God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (Toss up between Manheim Steamroller rock version and Bare Naked Ladies featuring Sarah Mcglaughlin.)
O Little Town of Bethlehem (Nat King Cole)
(Ok, I’m changing it to five songs.)
Frosty the Snowman (Esquivel)
Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Frank Sinatra or Judy Garland)
10 thoughts on “Christmas Faves

  1. kludge

    For the first time in months your blog correctly displays in my browser. I cannot relay my excitement!

    There was this very funny movie with Dudley Moore as an elf named Pat, I think, that commercialized Santa job and went out on his own. I remember liking it as a kid..

    …clearly I don’t recall the name.

  2. J Crew

    Movies:

    White Christmas

    Elf

    The Santa Clause- Tim Allen version

    Songs:

    O Holy Night

    The First Noel

    Sleigh ride by Johnny Mathis. His voice is the best ever.

    Little Drummer boy- Jars of Clay version

  3. Sarah

    Movies:
    The Best Christmas Pagent Ever
    The Little Drummer Boy
    Songs:
    Silent night
    New one this year is California Christmas. A very cool song, specially when you live here.

  4. jenylu

    Whoa Ando,
    I finally get around to checking your site again and you have 3 new posts!:) Merry Christmas!

    Top three movies:
    1. It’s a Wonderful Life
    2. Miracle on 34th Street
    3. Muppets Christmas Carol

    Top three Christmas songs:
    1. In the First Light (Glad)
    2. The Hallelujah Chorus of Messiah
    3. O Holy Night

Leave a Reply

