Do You Believe In Miracles?

BroomballYes!

Tonight I joined The Storekeeper, Jeremy of the Fellowship of Nicea, and the Santa Rosa Bible Church Jr. High youth group for an exhilerating game of broom-ball at the local ice rink.  For the unenlightened, broom-ball is essentially ice hockey with tennis shoes instead of skates, a softball sized red rubber ball instead of a puck, and brooms instead of hockey sticks.  Though they aren’t actually brooms anymore, but a broomstick with a plastic head.  The last time I played broom-ball I was about 10 years old and all I really remember about it was everyone fell down a lot and it was a ton of fun….except for the concussions.  When The Storekeeper asked me this afternoon if I was up for it I was all in.

 We got to the rink at about 10:45 PM and as I stepped on the ice visions of pulled groins and torn ACL’s flashed before my eyes.  Its one thing for rubbery, resiliant Jr. Highers to be slipping and sliding and falling on the ice, quite another for someone twice their age….holy crap!  I’m at least twice as old as most Jr Highers!!  Weird.  Anyway, fortunately they didn’t zamboni the ice surface before we got out there, or else I’d be writing this from my hospital bed while in traction.  After a few minutes on the ice, I had determined the best way to get around the ice quickly without sacrificing my upcoming softball season.  Speaking of softball, one of the parents of the Jr. Highers is my third baseman for the team I coach.  I forbade him from playing broom-ball this close to the season, but he deliberately flouted my order.  Once the season starts, he’s going to be running until his lungs explode.  But I digress….

I started out playing on the defensive end, doing my best to neutralize The Storekeeper’s scoring chances.  We did ok at first, but then our star goalie, a slight 13 year old girl named Morgan (I think) finally let a few slip through.  I determined at that point that the best defense would be a good offense.  The Storekeeper had moved into net for the opposition and the daughter of non other than Jennylu was putting up a stiff defense, so I knew we’d need the extra help on the offensive end.  A kid named Pierce and I put on quite an offensive display, putting up 3 goals and 3 assists between us.  Did I mention I was playing with about 28 Jr. Highers?  My final line for the night; 2 goals (including the game winner both against The Storekeeper), 1 assist, 17 slip-and-falls (one near fatal), 0 pulled muscles (at least that I can tell right now), 1 game misconduct penalty for fighting.  Oh well, there goes the Lady Byng.

If you ever get a chance to play a little broom-ball you should do it.  Its a blast.  It was the most fun I’ve had in a while, and definitely the most fun I’ve ever had while in the vicinity of Jr. Highers.  Now I must be off to the shower.  I smell like a Jr. Higher.

9 thoughts on “Do You Believe In Miracles?

  1. Rebecca

    Ahhh…broom-ball. I remember the junior high days of playing that game. I still have a lump on my forehead to show my team spirit. Nothing like going for the ball up against a senior high school boy when you are 13! He smacked his stick and knocked me flat on the ice…instant lump on the forehead. I can’t imagine going out on the ice now…all of you were brave. :)

  2. The fact that you got this posted after broom hockey was done – most impressive! Those muscles might be more “sore” when you wake up. Glad you were able to join in the fun.

  3. That was totally awesome. We need to get a group of friends together and do this soon. As for you, Pierce and Bruce.. you were relentless. It was like playing with Lemieux, Jagr, and The great one. BTW.. Those might be the only hockey names that I know

  4. Jennylu

    Hey, nice tribute to Al Michaels in the title. I can tell this one felt as emotion laden as the original! :)

    Glad you survived, both the hockey & the junior highers!

    Both the daughters of Jennylu will be reading this one. :)

Leave a Reply

