Dear Nabisco…

OreoI took my own advice from the other day and wrote a friendly little email to Nabisco, parent of the Oreo brand chocolate sandwich cookie, in which I asked if there is in fact less creamy middle than there was when I was little.  Like an idiot I didn’t save the email, but it went something along these lines:  is there less filling, is it because of this kooky “health craze”, that’s a big mistake because it will only make people eat more cookies, is there less filling in regular Oreo’s, if the filling has been reduced as a cost cutting measure that’s pretty cheap.

It was a lot more eloquent than that, but that was the general idea.  Today I got a response, found below:

Thank you for visiting http://www.nabiscoworld.com and for your interest in OREO Double Stuf Chocolate Sandwich Cookies. I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your purchase of OREO Double Stuf Chocolate Sandwich Cookies. Your experience is important to us, I’m sending you reimbursement to replace OREO Double Stuf Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, via first class mail, which you should receive within 7-10 business days.

I checked our records and we have not made any recent changes to this product.  It sounds as if what you purchased was not up to your high quality standards, or ours.  Our goal is to always provide our consumers with high quality, great tasting products.

Thank you for contacting us and please add our site to your favorites and visit us again soon!

Kim McMiller
Associate Director, Consumer Relations

Besides the fact that I seem to be getting something for free, either cookies or money, I’m not buying this.  I don’t know what kind of clout an Associate Director, Consumer Relations carries, but I doubt its enough to get the inside dope on creamy filling reductions.  This lame excuse is unsuitable.  I encourage, nay, I implore you all to write to Nabisco yourselves about the vanishing filling.  Lets turn up the heat, make them feel the pressure, put the screws to ’em.  Tell your Oreo loving friends and neighbors to write or call.  People unite!

 Oh, and apparently its Double Stuf not Stuff.

www.nabisco.com
 

18 thoughts on “Dear Nabisco…

  1. Wow, you must be serious! Normally most people are okay with a bribe like that one…

    “I checked our records and we have not made any recent changes to this product. ”

    What in the world is this? Like some sort of a secret diagram showing the stuffing thickness measured in microns?

  2. Josh, c’mon. Pay attention your next OREO binge and you’ll see what I mean. I’m only fighting for the people here. For the children!

    Kludge – Exactly. What records? That’s why I won’t be bought off os easily. I smell a coverup.

  3. Tripling will merely get us back to where we started. We need to be compensated for our loss. Quadruple or nothing!

  4. Tara

    If it is any consolation, I too have noticed less filling in the Double Stuff. This is a serious problem because if there is less filling in the Double, there’s either less in the regular or the regualr has stayed the same and there’s not much of a difference between the two. A travesty! Anyway, apparently I have too much time on my hands so I wrote to Nabisco on their website. Hazzah!

  5. Tara

    Andy,
    I received an email response, and thought you might be interested—it differed a little bit from yours. Yay for reimbursement!
    sorry for your experience with OREO Double Stuf Chocolate Sandwich Cookies. The problem you described sounds like there was a possible mechanical failure at our facility. I am sending you reimbursement via first class mail, which you should receive within 7-10 business days.

    We value the quality of the products that leave our facility. We give careful attention to each step of our manufacturing process. Samples from each production run are evaluated before we ship them, in an effort to prevent any unsatisfactory products from entering distribution.

    Mistakes can sometimes occur on our production lines. We try to prevent this by stationing inspectors at various points along the production lines, and their duties include watching for malfunctions. Also, our quality control staff makes regular rounds throughout the production area during the day in order to ensure that production equipment is functioning properly.

    I hope this information is helpful, and again, I apologize for this experience. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope that your next experience is a good one.

    Kim McMiller
    Associate Director, Consumer Relations

  6. hey, i’m glad they responded and are coming through for you in product, although not in information.

    i complained recently to hershey for their sugar free syrup being the gross thing i have ever had in my life (runny and very very bitter). and got no response. zip-zero.

  7. Pingback: Shell Game « Life of Ando

  8. I got a similar response from the same woman when I complained that their Premium crackers don’t open on the seam, the whole sleeve rips. Coupon expected in 7-10 days.

  9. I google whether or not Oreo was using less filling and it brought me here. The thing is, it’s not Double Stuf that I bought, it’s just regular Oreos. And I can definitely tell there’s less filling. There’s flat out no question. Also, it’s not as white as it used to be. Are they cheaping out on bleach too?

  10. Pingback: The 500 – Life of Ando

  11. Barbara A Chester

    Wow, just tried Oreo Thins for the first time, yecchhhh. For years I have hoped that if anything changed with Oreos it would be less filling but leave the cookie part alone, well, that didn’t happen. Did we really need a faux adult Oreo, not in my book we didn’t. Fortunately where I live we have an Oreo clone that is 10 times better than Oreos (yes, it surprised the Hell out of me, but it’s true). Oh, not to mention about half the price of Oreos also. Message to your R&D dept. if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Leave a Reply

