A Lily Or A Max

scan0012.jpg

As you may have heard, I’m having a baby.  Well, actually my wife Jen will be doing most of the heavy lifting, but you know what I mean.  We’re a little bit past the half-way mark and things are going pretty well.  For a stretch there it looked like it might be a looooong seven months.  The first two went by fairly worry free, but after that Jen went through a period where every weekend she would get crippling migraine headaches that would knock her out for about two days.  But those of subsided (praise the Lord!) and its been a good solid month since she’s had one.  She’s been feeling pretty good.  Tired but good.

 A little over a month ago we went to get an ultrasound to find out what the sex of the baby is.  Some people say this is cheating and I won’t necessarily disagree with those people.  I wasn’t sure whether or not I wanted to know ahead of time, so being the decisive and savvy guy that I am I let Jen make the call, which allowed me to look both surprise-loving and chivalrous.  She wanted to know, for the purposes of preparation, so to the ultrasoundery we went.  Well, we still don’t know.  Whatever it is, it appears to be quite modest.  The little tike had its legs crossed tight and wouldn’t even give us a peak of anything, or lack of anything.  As a father-to-be this doesn’t bother me in the least, especially if its a Lily rather than a Max.  (Those are the names we like, by the way.)

We are going back for another ultrasound on November 5th, my birthday incidentally, so we’ll see if our modest little friend will have an exhibitionist moment and show something…or lack of something.  In the meantime, here are a couple of pictures we got.  Personally, I think he/she looks more like me.

scan0011.jpg

9 thoughts on “A Lily Or A Max

  1. Anna

    well i for one hope the baby looks like you, because then Lily/Max will look like me too…oh and by the way in my school picture this year I actually do look just like you =-/

  2. Rebecca

    Congratulatios either way. We “cheated” each time. I wanted tobe prepared also. If we ever decide to have another one, I’ll wait. Most likely it would be a girl anyway! :)

  3. My only advice on this. As semi veterans on this. If you find out, you will find yourself knee deep in clothes and a little shy on baby hardware. People (women) would much rather buy cute clothes over strollers, diaper pails or high chairs.

    So if you find out, keep your lips sealed till AFTER the shower.

  4. Rebecca

    Kludge has it nailed on the head but one additional thing to consider is that if you don’t tell people, you’ll end up with a closet full of yellow and green clothes. Women just love to buy baby clothes! :)

  5. Rebecca is right – now if you do find out, you can do what we did and let people know that we needed basics and that helped a GREAT deal – we did get the basics – and no matter whether you tell or not, you will end up with clothes – as Rebecca said – women just love to buy baby clothes :) That is inevitable!

  6. Jennylu

    I too think the baby looks just like you. :)

    (I was going to include an Eleanor Roosevelt jibe, but thought better of it, aren’t you glad?)

  7. Brian Bullock

    Wow, I guess I haven’t been here in awhile. Congrats Ando, when is the little one due? Erin is preggers also, due Feb 28thish

Leave a Reply

