Due Date

So here it is, the eve of Lily’s original due date and we’re three and a half weeks into this whole parenting thing.  So far, I’d have to say things are going pretty well.  It’s funny, while I wouldn’t say that child rearing necessarily comes naturally, because I think parenting is a skill to be learned, there is a certain amount of intuitiveness that comes with the baby.  At least that’s been my experience after three short weeks.  As I’ve said many times, I’ve never been one for baby holding or the like, and hadn’t changed a diaper ever before, but something happened along the way.  It just feels normal now.  Whether its holding, feeding, or changing the baby, it feels like I’ve been doing this a lot longer than I have been.  It’s actually a pretty amazing thing to experience.  There is of course a learning curve, but the basic day-to-day stuff has come, if not easier, at least more naturally than I would’ve expected.

Having this baby has led me to do some things that I never would have thought I’d be doing.  For instance, driving around town late at night trying to find just the right double electric breast pump.  You haven’t lived until you’ve called every baby retailer in town asking for breast pumps.  Or asking the guy stocking the shelves at Target when he thinks their next shipment of breast pumps will come in.  A hearty, “Uhh” was the response.  In general, there’s just a lot more breast pump activity involved than I was ready for.

Despite that, things seem to be going well.  Lily is gaining weight, a whopping eight ounces in the last four days, sleeping pretty well, and making Jen and I love her more every second.  Here are a few artsy pictures of her for your enjoyment.

1.jpg
2.jpg

3.jpg
4.jpg
5 thoughts on “Due Date

  1. Rebecca

    What a beautiful baby. I think almost every new dad has had to go breast pump hunting. I think that it is a prerequisite to being a dad.

  2. Stephanie Writebol

    What a cutie! Thanks for posting – and yes – Jeremy had to go help me find the pump too – – – so you are not alone. I am sure you are doing super! Tell Jen hello – we cant’ wait to see little Lily again :)

  3. Jennylu

    Ah, enjoy the parenting while it still seems easy…whoops, sorry to sound a little cynical there, you’d think I had a teen in the house!

    And BTW, she is awfully cute. Can’t wait until she’s visiting the nursery on the 2nd Sunday of each month. :)

Leave a Reply

