These Pretzels Are Making Me Thursday

Greetings faithful Regulars and wayfaring newcomers.  I bring you tidings on this fine September Thursday.  Though my integrity bids me to inform all readers here that I am actually writing to you on a Wednesday, but in all likelihood you will in fact be reading this on a Thursday, especially if you happen to reside in the central timezone and all points East as in a mere few minutes it will already be Thursday there if it isn’t already.

Now that we’ve got that settled….

Maybe its just the fact that I’m only recently emerging from my summer hiatus (or doldrums, depending on how you look at it) but it seems to me that the Life of Ando is getting a bit stale.  Periods of stagnation are to be expected when something has been reasonably well maintained for nearly three years, except for those who are very gifted, a number which does not include myself.  Those who have managed to hold their nose and stick with me for nigh on 391 posts will recall I’ve faced such wastelands before (notably here and here) but have always managed to right the ship, or at least get the ship pointing in the direction it started in.  Whether that was the right direction or not I’ll leave for someone else to judge.

So here we are again.  The wind has died down to a hot, sickly breeze, the ship is listing, and we’re out of grog.  And yet we press on.  Why?  Because we have to, that’s why.  We have to press on for the independent blogger, sitting at his keyboard this very minute, wondering whether or not its all still worth it.  “No one ever comments or links to my posts, all my readers are related to me, my wife doesn’t even read my blog, why should I go on wasting my time?”  For that poor soul we must persevere or the small time blogging spirit will be extinguished forever.  Some of our blogging brethren have already fallen by the wayside.  Which gets me to my real point.

I’ve cleaned up some of my blogroll links.  I held on to a few dead blogs just for the sake of padding my blogroll, but I was having a difficult time looking myself in the eye (especially since I don’t own a mirror) and the time had finally come to cut loose the quitters.  So, so long Reluctant Fundie.  Sayonara, Bruce Glidewell’s blog.  Adios, Chronicles of Kuhnerdom, we barely knew thee.  There are a couple more that are lingering by a thread but if they don’t get to steppin’ in the near future they’ll be kicked to the curb as well.  I have added some new links to blogs that are in fact very active and that I actually read.  Most are history related, for whatever that’s worth to you.

In the coming days and weeks I’ll hopefully be adding some other items to my space (not Myspace) here to spruce things up.  Just eye-catching accoutraments really, nothing of any real substance.  The true substance of the blog, the posts, will, I’m sorry to have to say, be much as it has been these 2+ years.  For that, I apologize.

In the meantime, feel free to let me know what you might like to see here and what would keep you coming back and commenting.  Content, nifty sidebar widgets, a “file not found” message, anything.  Leave a comment on this post or in the Suggestion Box at the top of the page.  I love input.

Before you make your rough draft of the list you’re going to send me, take a break and check out this post.  Part of me wants to scream “NERD!” and part of me wishes I thought of this.  Ok, all of me wishes I thought of this.  Shout out to Blog 4 History, where I found the link.

2 thoughts on “These Pretzels Are Making Me Thursday

  1. Anna

    I have a suggestion….more Lily!! I like reading your blog and all, but I barely get to see or hear about the precious little girl, so I would appreciate more stories, pictures, etc. So ….happy blogging!!

Leave a Reply

