Mind Your P’s and Q’s

I’m giving you all fair warning, on Saturday night I’ll be on another ride along between 8 PM and 1 AM.  So be good.  I don’t want to see any of my friends in steel bracelets, but I’ll do what I have to do.  And that is sitting in the car watching until it’s safe to come out.

And now a little sumpn’ for da ladies…  That’s right, baby news!

Today she will begin her ninth month on planet earth and so far she seems to be enjoying the human experience.  She’s constantly smiling and screaming herself into happy little coughing fits.  Yes, she has rediscovered her scream much to our ears’ pain.  She hasn’t yet acheived full, purposeful locomotion, but I think she’s beginning to grasp the concept.  She rolls all over the place, which is fine except that as soon as she’s off her blanket and onto the living room floor she is bathed in a sea of dog hair.  We try to vacuum at least every other day, but I suspect we could spend the bulk of our waking hours doing so and it wouldn’t make a bit of difference.  Jackson and his hair is not unlike Pig Pen and his dust.  I have accepted this as a fact of life, while Jen still clings to the hope of a pristine and doghair-less baby.

Lily’s first tooth came in a couple of weeks ago, not without much crying and gnashing of (pardon the pun) teeth.  As rookie parents we were mystified by her unusally persistent crying the previous night and didn’t realize it was the emergence of a tooth that was causing all the ruckus until her baby sitter pointed it out to us the next day.  Needless to say that we didn’t feel like Parents of the Year candidates after letting our poor baby scream herself to sleep while in agonizing pain.  Three cheers for us.  Oh, well.  Live and learn.

The only other thing to report is that she is on the tail end of battling her first bout of the common cold.  Nothing serious, just a runny nose and a little cough, but it hasn’t dampened her spirits in the least.  She’s still as happy as ever, shrieking away as she plays in her Exer-saucer.

All in all, she couldn’t be a more perfect little girl.  Its hard to believe its been eight months already.  Time sure does fly.

7 thoughts on “Mind Your P’s and Q’s

  1. Sarah

    Thanks for the great up date Andy!!! Wow, nine months already. It doesn’t seem like it has been that long. I remember when Bekah started screaming. It didn’t last too long which was really nice. Here’s to earplugs and Tylenol for the teething.

  2. And now the same mean face again?

    I assure you its nothing personal. WordPress automatically generates a goofy avatar for commentors that don’t have a wordpress profile picture.

  3. Rebecca

    Wow, 9 months already! She is a cutie. All I can say for teething is tylenol and baby orajel. Those two are a life saver for teething. Don’t feel bad for misisng it. We’re on #4 and I missed the signs for Sophia and was confused why she was up every two hours. At 4 am the light went on and I realized it was probably a tooth. Here’s to tylenol and orajel! :)

  4. Hey what is this? Life of Ando hijacked by adorable baby pictures and enjoyable domestic tales….

    Where’s my pork update?

    I have to do what I can to keep my readers of the fairer sex interested. The key to retaining your readership is to know your audience. Well, the key to readership is good content, but I have to settle for knowing my audience.

Leave a Reply

