The Bucket List

listA couple years ago a movie came out starring legendary oldsters Jack Nicolson and Morgan Freeman as old, dying codgers from opposite ends of the socio-economic spectrum who spend their remaining days on earth living out their bucket lists; all the things they wished they could’ve done before they kick the bucket.  When they first met, they didn’t care much for each other and had not a thing in common, but by the end they realized that despite their differing status and skin tone, they were more alike they ever realized.  Sentamentalism flowed and platitudes abounded.  At least, this is what I gather from the trailer.  I haven’t actually seen the movie.

For some reason as I was driving home from work today this notion of a bucket list crossed my mind.  Maybe driving on a slippery freeway in the rain had me thinking of my own mortality, but whatever the reason I got to thinking about what things I’d like to do before I join that great chorus in the sky.

First a couple ground rules:

1.  No listing things that go without saying.  Of course I want to be able to walk my daughter down the aisle at her wedding.  Duh.

2.  It has to be at least somewhat plausable.  Saying I want to walk the rings of Saturn or sing Pagliacci at Carnegie Hall push the bucket list into the fantasy realm.  They don’t have to be likely, but at least believeably doable.

I think that should do it for the rules.  This will be an ongoing list that I will continue to add to as I think of more things.  Now, on to the list.

Before I die, I want to:

Drive the length of Route 66

Walk on Omaha Beach

Go to Wrigley Field and Fenway Park

Hike the John Muir Trail from Yosemite to Mt. Whitney

Watch all six Star Wars movies in one day

Make a documentary

Go skydiving/bungee jumping

Publish a book of some kind

Visit Cooperstown

Eat a bratwurst…in Germany

That’s it for now.  What’s on your list?  Add it in the comments.

3 thoughts on “The Bucket List

  1. Nice list…I’m assuming all of those are with Jen if she will join you. :) I made a list just after college and I have done most of them. I need a new list. I still need to:
    Hike Half Dome
    Finish a real quilt (I started it as a wedding gift to Brett and Kelly and now they have been married almost 7 years!)

    Happy Conquering!

  2. Sounds like you have some traveling in your future.

    My wife, father, mother, and I have been watching this horribly long documentary for almost 8 months I think called “The Marathon Trip” or something like that about Route 66. We watch it in 30 minute chunks, and sometimes watch it Mystery Science Theater style laughing and making comments — mostly because the editing and interview choices are so poor.

    Anyways — those sound like some great adventures you have planned – you should do them!

  3. Pingback: March madness: monthly mini-goals « Living, Learning, Earning

Leave a Reply

